God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

Moving Towards Your Breakthrough


“I am worn out waiting for your rescue, but I have put my hope in your word” – Psalm 119:81
“They almost finished me off, but I refused to abandon your commandments. In your unfailing love, spare my life…” – Psalm 119: 87-88

When I was working in Oklahoma City, I found myself at my wits end in several different situations. The problem was that I didn’t know what to do when I was faced with the challenges. Well, let my clarify. I knew that I needed to pray through the issues, but I didn’t know what I needed to do to get my breakthrough. The longer it took for me to gain peace in the situation, the more restless I became. I started to worry more. I became anxious and nervous. I even became very bitter and angry.

The situation was stealing my peace. It was stealing my joy. I trudged through every single day. I looked at the day as an object I had to overcome. “Just get through the day. That’s all you need to do. Make it through the day. Deal with the abuse you’re facing. Stress is just part of the job. All you need to do is make it to the next day.” Those were all common thoughts I had every single day. It was not easy dealing with what I was dealing with.

As I dealt with the pain and torment on a daily basis, I knew there needed to be another way to get through what I was facing. I couldn’t continue living day by day. I needed to change what I was doing to see a new day.

Through it all, God showed me one major component of faith and long-suffering that I was not utilizing in my daily walk. He showed me that, not only did I need to walk in expectation that my situation was going to change, but I had to speak His truth over my situation.

As the psalmist says in the verses above, we have to teach ourselves to stand firm on God’s truth in order to gain the break through that we need. We need to hang on to what the word says that God will give us! We must know what God has promised to us, and we must speak those promises over our lives!

As Psalm 119:81 says, his hope for breakthrough was in the word. The word had so much more power in his situation. He couldn’t use his own strength for breakthrough. He needed God’s supernatural power to make it past whatever it was that was holding him down.

Holding onto God’s word isn’t enough, though. As Psalm 119:87-88 says, we must get ready for a battle. The psalmist REFUSED to abandon God’s commandments. You must continuously speak God’s word over your life. The battle will begin with the first word you speak into your situation, but if the change is not instant (which, in most cases, it’s not), you must refuse to back down! His word is truth (John 14:6), and it will not come back to us void (Isaiah 55:11). Once the word is released from your mouth, it will set out to accomplish what its meaning is. But, if it’s not fixing the issue immediately, continue to speak it out! Keep speaking it out until your breakthrough has arrived!

It will be very easy to doubt the words you are speaking, but you must believe that God’s word will not return void (another example of standing firm on God’s word). Step out in expectation for your situation to change. Believe what you are saying! Once you start a pattern of speaking truth into your life and over your situations, you will begin to see a change. You will find that your heart’s capacity for faith will start to enlarge, and you move closer and closer to the breakthrough you desire. You will find it easier to battle through any situation you may face.

This is a life changing practice! It’s very easy to allow our emotions to tie us down to unbelief, but when you make this a part of your daily life, you will be amazed at the fruit that will come out of it! Remember… temporary pain will lead to eternal fruit! Speak God’s truth over your life, and you will find your breakthrough right around the corner!

No Responses to “Moving Towards Your Breakthrough”

Leave a Reply

