God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

“Put Up or Shut Up”


“Put Up or Shut Up”…. yep, that’s what God was impressing on my heart…

“It’s time to ante up!”

What exactly does that mean? The dictionary’s definition of the word “ante” is as follows:

“a level (as of achievement or intensity) regarded especially as a goal or standard”

Basically, God was calling me out. He wants to take me to heights that I’ve never known, but in order to do that, I have to raise my game. I must instill inside of myself disciplines that will take me higher levels in my faith and obedience. I need to get over all of the undisciplined parts of my life, and I need to hand them over to Him. He wants to help me disciplined so that He can take me to a new level of faith and obedience.

It all started a couple of weeks ago. As I was praying about what He wants me to write about for church, He kept putting messages in my path about how we shouldn’t settle for average in any part of our lives. The messages talked about how we need to give our absolute best in everything that we do. That means that we can’t let the “average” be the standard that we set for ourselves in this life. We can’t let the mundane settle in as the “norm” in our lives. We need to continually push forward and challenge ourselves to putting in the most effort into all of the things that we do. I understood what He wanted me to do.

That doesn’t mean that I put what He said into practice.

As I continued to meditate on exactly what He was asking me to do (a good stall tactic apparently), I decided to write some things down regarding where in our daily lives we need to step out of average and into above-average. I figured there would be a couple of areas He wanted to show me, but out of nowhere, all these are the areas that came to mind:

– Our bodies and how we need to take care of them
– Discipline in every aspect of our lives
– The language we use in our daily lives.
– Our relationships with others, specifically how men treat women and how women treat men.
– Where our identity lies in our lives
– How we use our time
– Integrity, not only in the workplace, but in our daily lives.
– Investing our time in others (discipleship)
– Complacency
– Stepping into what God has for our lives.
– Dieing to myself as a leader NO MATTER the emotions that come with it

CALLED OUT! God was raising the standard on me! This entire time, I thought I was preparing to do a writing, but God was actually CALLING ME OUT! The emphasis of His message to me was mostly centered on point number two in the list above, “discipline in every aspect of our lives”.

I’m currently reading, “Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life” by Donald Whitney, and this little gem appeared on page 22… (the items that apply to me are bolded)

Nothing was ever achieved without discipline; and many an athlete and many a man has been ruined because he abandoned discipline and let himself grow slack. Coleridge (who is mentioned in the book about how brilliant of a man he was but had no discipline) is the supreme tragedy of indiscipline. Never did so great a mind produce so little. He left Cambridge University to join the army; but he left the army because, in spite of all his erudition, he could not rub down a horse; he returned to Oxford and left without a degree. He began a paper called “the Watchman” which lived for ten numbers and then died. It has been said of him: ‘He lost himself in visions of work to be done, that always remained to be done. Coleridge had every poetic gift but one — the gift of sustained and concentrated effort.’ In his head and in his mind he had all kinds of books, as he said himself, ‘completed save for transcription.’ ‘I am on the eve,’ he says, ‘of sending to the press two octavo volumes.’ But the books were never composed outside Coleridge’s mind, because he would not face the discipline of siting down to write them out. No one ever reached any eminence, and no one having reached it ever maintained it, without discipline.

Each of those bolded sentences are EXACTLY what I’m doing right now… waisting ideas and vision without actually taking action to make them a reality. How sad is that?! I pray to God to give me great ideas and visions, but when they’re given, I lack the discipline to do anything about them.

NO MORE! It’s time to step up! God’s raising the ante, and I’m planning on going ALL IN!

This is something that’s going to be much larger than me… If you want to follow along with what’s happening during this “awakening”, follow my personal blog.

No Responses to ““Put Up or Shut Up””

Leave a Reply

