God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

“Soccer Saves Lives” Part IV – “Outnumbered”


Become a fan of my blog on Facebook! CLICK HERE and you will get updates on posts, links, and Christian news from around the world! You can also follow me on TWITTER

If you haven’t read the introduction and other parts to this series, click on the following links:
INTRODUCTION
PATIENCE
BETTERMENT
PRACTICE – Pt 1
PRACTICE – Pt 2

The score was now 5-2 in favor of my side. Overall, I was playing fairly well. I made some great stops on defense, and I put my all into my play. There were still some times where my skill level, or lack thereof, came back to bite me… but overall, I was playing pretty well.

That is, until they decided it was time to change up the teams a little bit. Our best player was now on the other side of the field, but I still thought to myself that it wasn’t going to be a big deal. We still had four players, they still had three… the odds were in our favor, right? Wrong…

I seemed to be getting tired quicker. I felt like I was putting in much more effort than before. What changed? I wasn’t quite sure… that is, I wasn’t sure until I confirmed with the guys who were on the field what members were a part of my team and what members were on the opposite team. My team was now the team that only had three players.

To say that I was a bit confused would be an understatement. HOW DID I MISS THAT?! You’d think it would have been made abundantly clear that no one replaced the member of my team that went to the other side. I missed the memo. I hadn’t received the press release in my email. No one left a message on my cell phone.

The entire ball game changed. It was now very clear how much more effort I had to put into this. What made matters worse is that the other two team members were pushing towards the goal a lot more intentionally. What happens when you’re on a three-man team, and two of them are standing very close to the goal they’re trying to score on? That means that one man… ME… was left in the backfield to fend for myself! I’M TERRIBLE! HOW COULD THEY THINK THAT, BY LEAVING ME IN THE BACKFIELD AGAINST OTHER PLAYERS WHO ARE REALLY GOOD WOULD HELP US TO KEEP OUR LEAD????

Either way, the situation was there, and I had no choice but to adjust. At one point, the two best guys on the field were coming at me. Who do I defend?! I go to one guy, and he’ll pass the ball to the other guy who will easily score, but if I don’t go after the guy with the ball and I try to defend the pass, I’m leaving a wide open lane for a shot by the ball carrier. What do I do? Well, I had no choice but to commit to one of the strategies.

How many times do you feel like this in your life? You know you’re outnumbered. You’re being attacked from all sides, and there you are on the battlefield standing alone. No one else is there to help you defend yourself. It can either go one of two ways. Either you commit yourself to one strategy, or you commit yourself to a completely different strategy. Either way, you have to make a decision quick.

Whatever the situation, remember that you are not alone. You have a mighty God that is behind your back every step of the way. He knows what’s best for you, and all He wants you to do is ask for His direction. He already has the solution, but He wants you to admit the problem. Don’t be afraid to be completely open and honest with God. Know that, with whichever direction He takes you, He has nothing but your best interest in mind.

God promises us in the bible that He has a great plan for our lives.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

Whatever His solution, it’s better than we could ever imagine. How amazing is it that the God who created the universe, the very same God that created the stars merely by breathing (Psalm 33:6), has a solution for our problems? It’s beyond comprehension.

God’s solution to our problem will help to prosper us. We’re not talking about a monetary compensation, though if we were given money for each trial we’ve ever faced, the billions of dollars in our bank would help to pad the pain that we suffered! It will prosper us in a way that helps our character be more God-like. The trial will help raise our faith and strengthen our stamina and capcity to levels that we never thought we could reach.

Even when you feel outnumbered, when you’re overwhelmed by what is coming at you, know that God is standing behind you with His mighty sword ready to go to battle with you. Face your adversities, for the battle is not yours but God’s.

PRAYER: Lord, we thank you for our trials and tribulations as James 1:2-4 says. Even though we are experiencing temporary joy, we know that we will be enjoying the eternal fruit that comes after we are delivered. We thank you that you, the mighty God of the universe, has our best interest in mind after we’ve gone through our trials. Lord, let us feel your mighty presence during these times. Help to give us, not only the strength to endure the trials, but the faith to know that you are working in the background. Help us to seek you out and to believe that you have our best interest in mind no matter the result. Help us to stand on your mighty word and the promises that you’ve given us in the bible as a solid foundation while we are in the midst of our situations. Lord, we thank you that you have your hand over our lives, and we thank you that you will always be here for us in these trials… and it’s in your mighty name we pray, Amen!

No Responses to ““Soccer Saves Lives” Part IV – “Outnumbered””

Leave a Reply

