God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

Soccer Saves – Part I – “Patience”


I was still very new to the Huntington Beach area. The soccer game was going to be held at a park that I apparently had driven by at least ten times. I had no idea the park existed! For those that don’t know me, I am a man of detail. I need to have solid plans laid out ahead of time, and when I do not feel that I have enough information, I get nervous… I was already nervous going to this group for the first time, and I didn’t want to look like a fool on the very first day I was meeting the members.

I knew that we were to meet at the park at 10am, but when I showed up, no one was there. I was really confused! Did I go to the wrong park? Is the park bigger than I thought? Were they at a different park than I was told? I then received a text message saying that soccer would be starting in 30 minutes. WHAT?! I was told 10am! It was apparently a detail that I was not given notice about!

I called one of the leaders, and he wasn’t at the field yet. I was the only one! I will admit that I was pretty annoyed, but I looked at the bright side. I had time to stretch! If I didn’t, I already knew that I wouldn’t be able to walk the next day.

While I stretched, so many thoughts were going through my head. “Will they actually show up? Was the leader thinking I was at a different park? How will I know it’s them? Moreso, how will they know it’s me?! I’ve never seen these guys before! Is that them walking across the grass? Nope! When are they going to show up?” I just kept going and going, like a hamster running around and around on his wheel without and end in sight. I was so anxious and nervous about this experience that I let my mind go into frenzy.

All of the thoughts that were going through my head boiled down to a few different things:
– I expected them to be on time. When they weren’t there by 10am on the dot, I was annoyed.
– I wasn’t notified that the time had changed. I planned my entire morning around being at the field by 10am, and when I found out the time changed, I was not happy.
-I became anxious and nervous.

How many times do we do that in our own lives? We expect God to show up exactly when we expect Him to. We have anticipated when and how God will show up in our circumstances and, when he doesn’t, we become anxious. We worry. We think that, if God hasn’t shown up yet, that He may not show up at all. We lose hope that He’s going to work in our situation exactly when and how we planned.

Worry not! The bible tells us, in Romans 8:25, “But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.”

God wants to use the “waiting” time in our lives to prepare us for what He has coming. He already has the solution, but in order for our prayers to be answered, he must help us get to a point where we can fully be ready for what He’s going to call us to do next. We already know He will answer our prayer. We may not see it at that moment, but we must expect that He will and wait with patience.

While we are waiting, we must dig into the Word of God and search out what the resolution will be. We must continue in fervent prayer to seek out what God wants us to do with our down time. Romans 12:12 says, “Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, and be constant in prayer”.

Are you currently in a preparation period with God? Have you lost hope? Take a step back and rejoice in your trial. Let God know that you are patiently waiting on Him. Ask Him to continue to prepare you for whatever He has planned for you!

PRAYER: Lord, you are so good to us. We thank you that, on the other side of problem lies provision. We thank you that, even though we may not feel your tangible presence, we know that you are working in the background. You have plans for us that far surpass any plan we could ever have for ourselves. We thank you that you are molding us to be in your image, and though the pain is temporary, the fruit is eternal. Lord, continue to show us the areas that you feel we are lacking. We believe that the breakthrough is right around the corner and that you are using this time to work on us. Continue to give us direction and clarity on the trial at hand, and we will continue to praise your name!

One Response to “Soccer Saves – Part I – “Patience””

  1. God wants to use the “waiting” time in our lives to prepare us for what He has coming. He already has the solution, but in order for our prayers to be answered, he must help us get to a point where we can fully be ready for what He’s going to call us to do next.

    Nice put brother!
    Amen to this article. All promises of Daddy God are YES and AMEN in Jesus Christ. We have hope and this hope is ALWAYS a positive and CONFIDENT expectations of the good things to come (^^,)


Leave a Reply

