God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

Back to Basics


Here is the part where, as a leader, I need to come clean with everyone. It’s not an easy subject to approach, but I need to be held accountable as much as everyone else.

I’ve never, in my entire Christian life, had a consistent relationship with Christ. It’s always been one huge struggle for me. Any time I’ve tried to instill some type of discipline in my life when it came to my walk with Christ, I’ve fallen flat on my face. It wasn’t even a question of how long I could last since my plan only went as long as two days most of the time.

It was so easy to find the excuses.
1) I don’t have enough time
2) I don’t feel like it
3) I don’t know where to read in the bible
4) I can’t concentrate

The conditions weren’t always idea, but even when they were, I had too many distractions. Between Facebook, TV, internet, music, and roommates, I was always subconsciously finding another “reason” I couldn’t sit down and do what I wanted to do.

Why am I writing all of this? Well, I’m at that place again. I’ve let Facebook take way too much of my time, I’ve let the TV replace much of the time I wanted to use to read the bible… this time around, though, I’ve decided that ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

I have a HUGE vision for my life. It’s one that requires much discipline, and it’s one that I CANNOT do without God. Really, when it comes down to it, I can’t even BREATHE without God, but if I’m to fulfill what I feel He’s calling me to do, I need to take a stand against anything that is keeping me from progressing in my walk with Him.

What has my walk been like lately? One word sums it up… Stale. The thing is, I know that God’s just waiting for me to come to Him. As Mathew 7:7 says, “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you”

This is the reason I’m writing today.

Some of the lyrics from “Heaven and Earth” by Phil Wickham explain exactly where I’m at…

“My beating heart is bursting out of my skin, to go further up and further in. Whatever it takes to bring me somewhere higher, be it rain or be it fire. I’m climbing the fences! I’m crossing the sea! I’ll cover the distance! I just want You to shine on me! I hear You calling me, and I’ll come running! Oh, I’m falling into love and nothing will stop it! I hear you calling me and I’ll come running TO YOU!”

I’m taking a break. I’m taking a break from Facebook, I’m taking a break from Twitter, and I’m taking a break from blogging. How long will the break be? I’m not sure… maybe until God tells me it’s time to go back.

What am I going to do with the time? I feel God leading me to “get back to the basics”. I need to instill discipline in my walk with God. I need to reestablish prayer disciplines, bible reading disciplines, and health disciplines. These disciplines have not been a big part of my life since I moved here, and it’s time to stop fooling around… it’s time to stop wasting my time. The days are not getting any longer!

I think I need to step back. I need to stop focusing on ministry things when I’m not even focusing on God. I need God to do ministry. Without God’s grace, I can’t do anything! How can I expect to be a leader and lead others in learning about Christ if I can’t even take five minutes out of the day to pray?

I’m planning on taking some time for just God and I. It’s time to take a stand against the distractions. If you need anything from me, please write an email to my ministry email – godsoverflow@gmail.com as I will be checking my email throughout this process.

If you wouldn’t mind keeping me in your prayers throughout this time, I would highly appreciate it!

Thank you! God bless you!
-Nick

3 Responses to “Back to Basics”

  1. Don’t discipline yourself. Don’t enforce laws for yourself.
    That is exactly why Jesus came. Because the Law was not doing any good to His people.

    Just know that you are the righteousness of God because of what Jesus did on Cavalry.

    Let their love flow inside your heart. And by their grace you will be changed from the inside (^^,)

    Shalom brother (^^,)

  2. This is great. Hope your break is going well.


Leave a Reply

