God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

“Is Anything Too Hard for the Lord?”


“Is anything too hard for the Lord?” Genesis 18:14

While I was in Seattle, I attended City Church based out of Redmond, Washington. I was just starting to get plugged in to a small group with a set of very strong Christian men. I had never seen faith and love like I saw in this group. These men were real examples of what Christian men are supposed to be… faithful, prayerful, and all were strong leaders. While I was very nervous being in a new Bible study, I knew that God send me there for a reason.

About 10 minutes after study started, one man walked in. He apologized for being late, but he had a story that has stuck with me for a couple of years now. I asked him if I could share the story, and he agreed. Here is his testimony.

“I was driving to the small group that I was co-leading when I got into the middle of hwy 520, a long floating bridge leading into down town Seattle. I was spending the time on the drive over praying for the night’s group and asking God to have His way in our small group.

My car started to thump with the obvious sound of a flat tire. I had a flat just a few days before and was riding on my full sized spare so I didn’t have anything to replace my flat. I was on a bridge with no shoulder to pull onto. I was in a situation where I couldn’t rely on myself even if I’d wanted to and it caused me to call on God for a solution.

As I prayed the thumping sound slowly lessened until it was completely gone and I drove the rest of the way on a perfectly good tire. When I got to the house we were all meeting at I inspected the tire and there was no sign of damage to the tire or rim. While I was still driving God miraculously fixed my car’s flat tire.”

What a great testimony! He was on his way to do God’s work with men, and the devil tried to stop him from fulfilling what God had in store with all of us. He had such faith that God would remedy his situation that he prayed through the trial and believed that God would intercede.

It could have been very easy for him to figure that he needed to find a safe place to pull his car off the road, call a tow truck, and decide that he couldn’t make it to the bible study. Instead, he shifted his thinking by, not only praying for God to help, but believing that God would intercede on his behalf.

God is so much larger than any of us could imagine. He can intercede on our part no matter how dire the situation. Just as Genesis 18:14 asks, “Is anything too hard for the Lord?”

The next time you face a situation that you feel there is no end or resolution to, remember that God is bigger than we can imagine and that nothing is impossible for Him!

Not only do we need to pray and ask for His help, but we have to BELIEVE in the prayer that we are saying. JR asked, AND he believed. The same can happen for you.

One Response to ““Is Anything Too Hard for the Lord?””

  1. Thanks for this, Nick. It is a great follow-up to our conversation last week when you were praying for me. I am having such a hard time trusting God for the answers, even though I know full well that He is the answer to everything anyway. My biggest problem is that I want the answers now, not later, especially since I am deathly afraid of having my car repossessed or losing the insurance on it. Please continue to pray for me to trust God completely, and not to lean on my own understanding, to let the answers be His answers, not whatever presents itself. Thank you so much.


Leave a Reply

