God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

A lack of…


Are you struggling with a certain aspect of your faith? Is there a facet of your life that you do not feel lines up with the will of God? Is God prompting you to work on a specific issue to help you grow as a Christian person and leader?

One of the constant themes I hear about how to improve a specific side of your faith is to completely submerse yourself into writings about the issue. For instance, I’ve been struggling with trusting the Lord when things go bad. I’ve definitely worked on that side of my life, and I’m better than I have ever been, but I’m still not where I should be. Joyce Meyer has a great phrase regarding this… “I’m not where I should be but praise God I’m not where I used to be!”

I’ve heard many preachers speak on the topic of trust, and there is one common theme between all of them… the Word of God. When we are struggling in our lives, we need to turn to the Bible for our answers. I’ve heard that looking up every verse you can find on your topic (in this case, “trust” for me) and reading them over and over again every day is highly effective. As you continually read the verses, you will realize that they will find a place in your heart and your mind, and you will become stronger in the area of concern. You will also begin to memorize the verses so that you can recall them when you need or when God prompts. When you meditate on the verses, God will continue to walk along side of you as you learn. You will become intimately familiar with the verses.

Also, along with reading and memorizing the verses, you should find any and every piece of literature you can regarding the topic. I recommend going on to Amazon.com, Barnesandnoble.com and borders.com to find books that relate to your topic. Take a Saturday trip to the bookstore of your choice and read the information. If the book speaks to you, buy it if you can or find it at your local library.

If you are not in a Bible study, I highly advise finding a group to join. In our walk with God, we need to have a group of people who are praying for each other daily. I am very blessed to be a part of a Bible study of very caring and loving individuals. I know that I can go to them without hesitation to pray for me on a specific topic, and they also know that they can get in contact with me at any point to ask for prayer as well. Many times, God uses the Bible study members to speak to me… he puts me on their hearts, and they follow His request for them to pray for me.

One way I’ve been able to make major strides in my walk with God is by having a Christian mentor. I am very blessed to have my mentor, Chris, who many times has felt impressed to talk to me about a specific issue. He has been dead on each time. When he prays for me, God leads him in his prayer for me, and he will not hesitate to let me know what God is leading him to pray about me. He comes in love and, though the message may be painful, Chris follows God’s direction and talks to me. He is an amazing man of God, and I am very blessed to have him in my life.

To sum it all up, when you have an issue, turn to God. Let Him know exactly what’s on your heart. After that, submerse yourself in any information you can find on the topic of your struggle, and let God speak to you through your trial! Before you know it, you will have matured in your struggle, and now you can help others through the same issues!

God bless you all!
-Nick

No Responses to “A lack of…”

Leave a Reply

