God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

God’s Direction – Part III


“1 We can make our own plans, but the Lord gives the right answer. 2People may be pure in their own eyes, but the Lord examines their motives. 3Commit your actions to the Lord, and your plans will succeed.” Proverbs 16:1-3

We know what we want… we spend hours upon hours dreaming of how we would feel if we were able to get this job… if we were able to move to that area… if we could afford that house or that car…
Singles dream of what it would be like if they were married; Newly married couples that are not in the greatest of financial situations dream of what it will be like 10 years down the road when there is more money coming in as a result of a new job or higher pay scale; Mid-aged couples dream of what it will be like when they retire.

It is great to have dreams and aspirations – after all, what would life be without out them? There’s just one piece missing from the above examples… God.

In the conclusion of the series, I will discuss what committing our actions to the Lord means and an example of what it means.

“3Commit your actions to the Lord, and your plans will succeed.”

Do you commit your daily life to God? When you wake up in the morning, do you pray for God to guide you through your day? Do you ask Him for His will for your day?

When you commit your actions to the Lord, you are reaffirming that you are living your life for Him, not for yourself. God may put incredible ministry opportunities in front of you. He will put people in your path that you are to witness to. Are you watching to see what you can do for Him? What can you do in your current situation to bring His name glory?

This is also a good way to reaffirm that you trust Him in whatever He has in store for you. Even though you may be starting an undertaking that you don’t fully know how to do or understand, but you are definitely feeling lead to do it, you are telling God that you will continue with His direction. You won’t be relying on your own skill but the skill that He will give you.

I’m not a writer… by any means. I have done some sports writing in the past, but I have never done this type of writing. I felt extremely lead by God to not only be extremely transparent with what is going on in my life, but I knew that I needed to write about it. I had no idea what I was doing… in fact, I still don’t… all I know is that God is using it to feed others in their daily lives.

Ever since I started writing, God had me using social media outlets like Twitter, blogs, and Facebook to post them. When I use Facebook, I commit the writing to Him and ask Him who He wants me to tag on the writings. His guidance is always right. I end up tagging the people who need the writing the most, and He ministers to them through that piece of writing. I don’t expect EVERY person I tag to be in a place for it, but there always ends up being some who needed the Word He sent to me to share.

What it comes down to is that I am taking a big step towards something that is unknown… doing something that I don’t exactly know how to do… all I can do is press forward and know that God will provide for me.

PRAYER: “Almighty God, my life is Yours. I have my own agenda for the day, but I don’t want to do the things that You don’t want me to do. I pray for your guidance. Put the people in my path that you want me to connect with, send me to the places you want me to go. I am committing my day to you, so do with as you wish! I am Your hands and feet, and I’ll go where you send me! Thank you, Lord, for your grace, and I look forward to doing Your work!”

No Responses to “God’s Direction – Part III”

Leave a Reply

