God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

God’s Direction – Part II


“1 We can make our own plans, but the Lord gives the right answer. 2People may be pure in their own eyes, but the Lord examines their motives. 3Commit your actions to the Lord, and your plans will succeed.” Proverbs 16:1-3

We know what we want… we spend hours upon hours dreaming of how we would feel if we were able to get this job… if we were able to move to that area… if we could afford that house or that car…
Singles dream of what it would be like if they were married; Newly married couples that are not in the greatest of financial situations dream of what it will be like 10 years down the road when there is more money coming in as a result of a new job or higher pay scale; Mid-aged couples dream of what it will be like when they retire.

It is great to have dreams and aspirations – after all, what would life be without out them? There’s just one piece missing from the above examples… God.

In part two of this three-part series, we will examine motives.

“2People may be pure in their own eyes, but the Lord examines their motives.”

God dealt with me on this a couple of months back. There was a situation God allowed into my life that completely transformed my faith walk.

There was a woman that I met who made me want to be a better person in every aspect of my life, including my walk with God. God used this woman to inspire me to treat others better, to reach out to hurting people more than I have before, to really watch how I acted around people, to listen to people no matter what they have to say… it was life changing!

I had so many aspirations as a result… I wanted to serve in the church more, I wanted to do more outreach in the community, I was praying more than I ever had, and God raised me as a spiritual leader for what I thought could be a possible future with her.

When the day came that the woman decided that she could only handle a friendship at that moment, even though she had feelings for me, we broke off ties. I was extremely confused. I really thought that God told me to pursue her. I thought it was loud and clear! I was to move forward with this woman! What just happened?!?!?!

There I was… confused, sad, lonely, and completely broken hearted. I didn’t know where to go next. I was so sure that this woman was going to be in my future.

As I was praying to God to help me figure out what just happened, I sort of had this impression on my heart… I was looking towards God asking for help, and I felt like He was standing over me. As he looked down towards me, I felt like he shrugged his shoulders at my situation and sympathetically said to me, “now what?”

He then laid a very gentle, but very CLEAR message… Most of the steps I had taken in my faith walk were not for the glory of His name. I wasn’t reaching out to others because I felt that He was leading me. I wasn’t praying to come before God and ask for His direction. I wasn’t listening to what others had to say because I actually cared… No… I was doing all of those things to impress the girl. By no means was I keeping my eye on God. I became so engulfed in what I thought was coming that I had taken my eyes off of the Lord.

As God promised in the Bible, He didn’t leave me even though I took my eye off of Him. I wasn’t by myself. He gently reminded me who He was, who He is, and who He will always be. God reminded me to keep my eye on Him and that His grace is all I need.

Take a look at what you do daily. Why are you nice to that person of the opposite sex at work or Bible study? Are you being nice because you’re truly showing God’s love, or are you trying to make some headway with her to get her to agree to a date with you? Are you befriending people because of worldly gains that could come to you? Is that person going to fulfill some type of “need” in your life that is not currently being filled?

I challenge you to examine your motives daily… are you doing what you are to glorify God’s name, or to satisfy your own desires? If you keep your eye on Him, you can’t go wrong.

No Responses to “God’s Direction – Part II”

Leave a Reply

