God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

God’s Direction – Part I


“1 We can make our own plans, but the Lord gives the right answer. 2People may be pure in their own eyes, but the Lord examines their motives. 3Commit your actions to the Lord, and your plans will succeed.” Proverbs 16:1-3

We know what we want… we spend hours upon hours dreaming of how we would feel if we were able to get this job… if we were able to move to that area… if we could afford that house or that car…
Singles dream of what it would be like if they were married; Newly married couples that are not in the greatest of financial situations dream of what it will be like 10 years down the road when there is more money coming in as a result of a new job or higher pay scale; Mid-aged couples dream of what it will be like when they retire.

It is great to have dreams and aspirations – after all, what would life be without out them? There’s just one piece missing from the above examples… God.

In this three-part series, I will break down each verse and show how we can apply them to our daily lives.

“1 We can make our own plans, but the Lord gives the right answer”
When you discover a path that you think could bring greater joy to you and/or your family, bring your request to the Lord. He hears our prayers, and if your request lines up with His will, He will bless your plans more than you could ever imagine! Bring your request in fervent prayer, and He will let you know if your plans are or are not of His will for you.

Make sure that your ears are open and your eyes are fixed on Him. He may put an opportunity in your path that will give you the opportunity to give all glory to God, but that could also change someone’s life.
I was at the lowest of the lows one day while living in Arizona. I had done something so despicable and so vile that I was sobbing on my floor. I was at the lowest point in my life. When I repented and asked God for forgiveness, I had thoughts of suicide run through my head.
In a moment of weakness, God came through for me… He audibly said to me, “patience… I have big plans for you.”

That night, I went to church. After church, there was a heavy metal Christian band playing in the main room of the church. I went to the meeting area before the concert started just to say hi to some friends. When the band was about to start, I wanted to leave.

As I was walking out of the church, there was a woman on the phone. She was visibly upset about something as she was crying on the phone and apologizing to the person on the other side of the line. I had seen her around church before, and she was a bit crazy. I didn’t want to deal with it, so I walked by her… my plans were to get in my car, drive home, and cry.

I was half way to the parking lot, and I turned around to see what she’s doing. She was off the phone and was hugging someone. She sat down on the bench, by herself, and put her head down.

“No” I said to myself… “I want to go home. I’m sad, and I need to be by myself.” As I continued to look directly at my car, as intent as I could be to get in it, I stopped walking… it was almost as if I couldn’t move! I kept trying to take a step, but I just couldn’t. I sighed… turned around, and went to talk to her.

I sat down next to her and asked, “Are you ok?” She looked at me and just started talking… she told me EVERYTHING. She was going through some REALLY tough situations! I didn’t know how to respond, but God did. I just let her talk. I let her get all of her frustrations out. She needed to vent, and I was there to listen. I kept praying, “God, tell me how I can help her.”

After she told me everything, I tried as best I could to pull Bible verses that could minister to her. Keep in mind, I had only been reading the Bible for about six months at this point, so my knowledge was very minimal. God spoke through me to her.

When the end of the conversation came, I felt impressed on my heart that I needed to pray for her. After prayer, she told me something that I will never forget. These words changed my circumstances in a heartbeat.

She looked at me and said, “You know? God answered a prayer of mine tonight. I prayed that God would send someone to me that I could talk to. I had so much in my heart that I needed to get out, and I prayed that He would send someone to me. You were the one that God sent.”

I can’t even tell you… I almost started crying on the spot. I had been at the LOWEST of LOWS just four hours prior… and God chose to use ME to minister to her?!

My plans were to go home and feel sorry for myself… and I almost let the opportunity for Him to lift me up go to the wayside because I wanted to be selfish and wallow in my own sorrows.

God’s plans are right. Bring your request to Him, and He will give you direction and guidance. Let Him lead you!

No Responses to “God’s Direction – Part I”

Leave a Reply

