God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

Your Mouth, Pt 2


Calvary Phoenix – Grace Mail 2-27-10

“Some people make cutting remarks, but the words of the wise bring healing.” Proverbs 12:18

Words satisfy the soul as food satisfies the stomach. The right words on a person’s lips bring satisfaction. Those who love to talk will experience the consequences, for the tongue can either kill or nourish life. What we say has an effect on people, and it can either help them or hurt them. Our words can either be a blessing or be like acid. We want to make sure that what our words do are for the best.

All of us have gotten ourselves into trouble with hasty words, cutting remarks or stupid words. I probably have a degree in saying dumb things. One time when the church was really small and had only about twenty-five people in it, it wasn’t hard to see when guests were at the church. There was only one service. A lady came in and she was a very elderly lady, but she was a very classy dresser. She was like someone who stepped out of “My Fair Lady” in that one scene where all these ladies are watching the races. She wore a big hat. Out of twenty-five people, she was easy to notice. She introduced herself, and her name was Pearl. I noticed her voice because it didn’t seem to go with the way she dressed. Her voice was really low, and she was a very sweet lady. We had the church office in our house at the time, and so I answered the telephone all of the time. I had a friend named Steve who would call and joke around with me. Sometimes he would call and disguise his voice and say he was someone else. He had just been messing with me, and when the phone rang, I thought he was calling me back. I answered the phone, “Calvary Community Church,” and the voice on the other end was low and raspy and said, “Hell-o.” I thought, “Steve, come on! You can do better than that!” So, I answered back in the same raspy voice, “Hello-o, can I help you.” The voice on the other end said, “Yes.” I thought, “Oh, come on!” So I said (in that low, raspy voice), “Who is this?” Then she said, “This is Pearl.” That really happened, and she never came back to our church. I totally blew it! Being quick to speak can get us into a whole lot of trouble.

TODAY’S PSALM:
Psalm 117, verses 1-2, “Praise the Lord, all you nations! Extol him, all you peoples! For great is his steadfast love toward us, and the faithfulness of the Lord endures forever. Praise the Lord!”

TODAY’S PROVERB:
Proverbs 27, verses 5-6, “Better is open rebuke than hidden love. Well meant are the wounds a friend inflicts, but profuse are the kisses of an enemy.”

No Responses to “Your Mouth, Pt 2”

Leave a Reply

