God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

Anger


CALVARY PHOENIX GRACE MAIL – 2-26-10

“Control your temper, for anger labels you a fool.” Ecclesiastes 7:9

The Bible has a lot to say about anger. I want to begin by saying that anger is an emotion. You need to understand that. Emotions are just kind of “there.” You can either be driven by them with the result being that they control us, or we can control them. Anger is universal and is neutral. Everybody has anger, but that doesn’t mean that everyone uses anger in the right way. It’s similar to money; money is neutral.

With money, I can buy flowers for my wife. Is that evil? With money, I can take my kids out for fun and make them happy. I can support the work of God with money and see people come to Jesus, but I could also do something bad with money. The money itself, however, is neutral.

Anger is like that, too. It depends on where you place anger and how you use it. With anger, it must be expressed appropriately. It has to be rightly proportioned to the situation and rightly directed. You can get all uptight about something that is really nothing. For anger to be right, it must be rightly proportioned and directed to the right person.

“Control your temper, for anger labels you a fool.” Ecclesiastes 7:9

TODAY’S PSALM:
Psalm 116, verses 16-17, “O Lord, I am your servant; I am your servant, the child of your serving girl. You have loosed my bonds. I will offer to you a thanksgiving sacrifice and call on the name of the Lord.”

TODAY’S PROVERB
Proverbs 26, verses 11-12, “Like a dog that returns to its vomit is a fool who reverts to his folly. Do you see persons wise in their own eyes? There is more hope for fools than for them. ”

2 Responses to “Anger”

  1. Thank you! This is so true and I have had to learn to use my anger in a correct way and not let it get the better of me. I don’t always succeed but it is a learning and growing process. Very timely message πŸ™‚

  2. God is good like that πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

