God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

Our Relationship With God Pt 1


A lot of you know that I am currently reading “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan. I wrote before about what love is and how we are called to be loving. 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 was the verse where you were to take the word “Love” and replace with your own name… it was a great exercise.

I just read a passage talking about what our relationship with God is supposed to be, and it was very convicting. I feel lead to share with you all this part of the chapter.

“There is so often a great disparity between how we feel about faith and how we are meant to feel. Why do so few people genuinely find joy and pleasure in their relationship with God? Why do most people feel they have to either pay God back for all he’s done (buy his love) or somehow keep making up for all their inadequacies and failures (prove their love)? Why are the words of Psalm 63:1-5 not an honest reflection of our lives on most days?

O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water. I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory. Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands. My soul sill be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

Lukewarm living and claiming Christ’s name simultaneously is utterly disgusting to God. And when we are honest, we have to admit that it isn’t very fulfilling or joyful to us, either.

But the solution isn’t to try harder, fail, and then make bigger promises, only to fail again. it does no good to muster up more love for God, to will yourself to love Him more. When loving Him becomes an obligation, one of many things we have to do, we end up focusing even more on ourselves. No wonder so few people want to hear from us about what we ourselves feel is a boring, guilt-ridden chore!

We are called to surrender everything for Christ — a concept most churchgoers are not particularly thrilled by. So what is missing? What’s wrong with this picture? Are we just fooling ourselves that we really can be in love with God and that it is ore satisfying than anything else? I don’t believe so.”

I will continue with the rest of the explanation in a day or two.

No Responses to “Our Relationship With God Pt 1”

Leave a Reply

