God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

Your mouth!


GRACE MAIL – February 1, 2010 (Calvary Phoenix)

Be careful what you say. Look at what David said in Psalm 141. I always look at this Psalm as a sort of getting-ready-in-the-morning-Psalm. Do you?

Psalm 141:1-3:

“O Lord, I call upon You; hasten to me! Give ear to my voice when I call to You! May my prayer be counted as incense before You; The lifting up of my hands as the evening offering. Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; Keep watch over the door of my lips.” (NASB)

In case you don’t “get it,” the New Living Translation says:

“Take control of what I say, O Lord, and guard my lips.”

Lord, help me to keep my mouth shut! In Proverbs 13 the Bible says that those who watch what they say enjoy special blessing.

Proverbs 13:2a, 3:

“From the fruit of a man’s mouth he enjoys good… The one who guards his mouth preserves his life; The one who opens wide his lips comes to ruin.” (NASB)

The New Living Translation puts it this way:

“Wise words will win you a good meal… those who control their tongue will have a long life; opening your mouth can ruin everything.”

TODAY’S PSALM:
Psalm 91, verses 9-11, “If you make the Lord your refuge, if you make the Most High your shelter, no evil will conquer you; no plague will come near your home. For he will order his angels to protect you wherever you go.”

TODAY’S PROVERB
Proverbs 1, verses 5-6, “Let the wise listen to these proverbs and become even wiser. Let those with understanding receive guidance by exploring the meaning in these proverbs and parables, the words of the wise and their riddles.”

No Responses to “Your mouth!”

Leave a Reply

