God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

A Shift in Thinking


“…For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5

I have a pretty intense situation coming around the corner, and I think God is using it as a test of faith. So far I’m failing, but I know that, as my favorite verse Colossians 3:2 says, “Keep your eye on things above and not on earthly things.”

It really is amazing what happens when a potentially life-altering situation arrives. I personally start with a state of shock followed by an ongoing battle with panic. Afterwards, I worry. Once I get started, I can’t seem to stop.

I don’t know why I meditate on fear and anguish when I know it’s just digging my hole deeper. I guess it’s just comfortable.

Maybe you have problems processing where to go or what to do after an awful phone call that could potentially be life-changing. Do you let the paralyzing fear of that phone call rob you of any joy in your life?

Perhaps you search for a distraction in alcohol or other abusive substances just so you can numb the pain.

Do you use it as an opportunity to throw yourself into your work, becoming so busy that you don’t have the time to process all of your thoughts and pains?

I just have to wonder…are we really so wrapped up in ourselves that we forget that we have the God of the universe on our side who is more than willing to help us in our situation, if only we’d break the binds of our own thinking?

God created the universe. He created the water, land, humans, animals, weather, plants, etc… you get the idea. So why are we so programmed to worry about every little thing that comes along in our lives? Why do our minds tell us that God, the One and Only, couldn’t work in our circumstances?

Are you telling me that He can’t help you find another job if you’re unemployed? Are you implying He can’t sustain you if you’re having financial troubles? Do you honestly believe He can’t intervene on your behalf when a major situation arises in your life?

God gave us the gift of eternal life! If we trust him to save us from the reality of hell, why do we have a problem trusting that He will work in our lives?

We must have a shift in thinking, and we must start it now. We have to know that God cares about us, He loves us, and He wants nothing but the best for us. I believe He puts tests of faith in front of us regularly, and He will reward us for staying strong. We must declare victory over our circumstances in the name of Jesus!

I know that God is calling me for a shift of thinking. Is He calling you for one? Are you listening?

No Responses to “A Shift in Thinking”

Leave a Reply

