God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

God is Love… Are You?


Become a fan of my blog on Facebook! CLICK HERE and you will get updates on posts, links, and Christian news from around the world! You can also follow me on TWITTER

God has me in a place in my life where He’s teaching me how to love like He loves. As He prepares me for whatever it is that He’s leading me to (praying for a wife, family, etc.), He wants me to focus on HOW to love like He does. This is an answered prayer.

I don’t think I fully understood what it meant to love. I always thought it was a “feeling”, not a choice. People have tried to teach me this in the past, but I never wanted to listen… well, now it’s time to listen.

I’m reading the book, “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan, and I came across a chapter that completely turned my life upside down. Though it was a painful lesson, God “gently” put into perspective where I really am, and I can’t stop thanking Him for it. I felt compelled to share this with you.

We all know that God is love. As 1 John 4:8 says,

“He who does not love does not know God, for God is love.”

In the book, Francis Chan talks about 1 Corinthians 13:2 where John says:

“and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing”

In that verse, John talks about how he is NOTHING without love. Nothing else really matters but love.

Next, Chan talks about how 1 Corinthians 13:4-8, as well as 13, are so overused and cliche. Even though they are overly familiar, make sure you read the entire verse word-for-word. You’ll see why afterwards.

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends… So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

Chan continues, “I was challenged to do a little exercise with these verses, one that was profoundly convicting. Take the phrase Love is patient and substitute your name for the word love (For me, ‘Francis is patient…”). Do it for every phrase in the passage”.

Isn’t that convicting? Can you say that you are every one of those things? Are you kind? Do you insist on your own way? Do you endure all things?

This exercise has shown me that I have a long way to go… as Joyce Meyer always says, I’m not where I should be, but PRAISE GOD I’m not where I used to be!

Pray for God to show you ways that you can be more like Him… pure, unselfish, unadulterated love!

2 Responses to “God is Love… Are You?”

  1. Very good insight, loved the point of view Francis took! God has been dealing with me about this, too. I have had to learn how to love more, forgive more, and be irritable less, and I am still learning! It is not easy to do, but it is a worthy pursuit! Keep at it, Nick!

  2. You and I are in the same place in life right now 🙂


Leave a Reply

