God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

Shattered


Shattered – John 6

Can you look back to a time in your life where the situation you were in completely shattered your happiness and joy? What was the event that caused the turmoil? Did a man/woman, that you swore would be your husband/wife, break things off with you? Did you lose a job with a company that you saw yourself being with for the remainder of your career? Did you lose a very close family member or friend? How did you feel afterwards?

I look back at some of those events in my life and, though I’m very thankful that I went through them, they still bring back a sense of sadness, bitterness, or contention. In fact, right before I sat down to read the bible today, I was thinking of one of those situations. I felt like my life at the time had been put on a screeching halt; I had to deal with the reality of what happened and all of “my” plans that were ruined.

I can look back now and smile about it, but I still remember the pain I felt when the event occurred.

I started to read John 6, and God reminded me of the miracles that He can provide for us. I’m going to copy in the entire passage because I feel it is very relevant to the point of this writing.

John 6:4-14 (NKJV)
“Now, the Passover, a feast of the Jews, was near. Then Jesus lifted up His eyes, and seeing a great multitude coming toward Him, He said to Philip, ‘Where shall we buy bread, that these may eat?’ But this He said to test him, for He Himself knew what He would do.

Philip answered Him, ‘Two-hundred denarii worth of bread is not sufficient for them, that every one of them may have a little.’

One of His disciples, Andrew, Simon Peter’s brother, said to Him, ‘There is a lad here who has five barley loaves and two small fish, but what are they among so many?’

Then Jesus said, ‘Make the people sit down.’ Now there was much grass in the place. So the men sat down, in number about five thousand. And Jesus took the loaves, and when He had given thanks He distributed them to the disciples, and the disciples to those sitting down’ and likewise of the fish, as much as they wanted. So when they were filled, He said to His disciples, ‘Gather up the fragments that remain, so that nothing is lost.’ Therefore, they gathered them up, and filled twelve baskets with the fragments of the five barley loaves, which were left over by those who had eaten. Then those men, when they had seen the sign that Jesus did, said, “This is truly the Prophet who is to come into the world.”

When I read through this, of course my first thought was, “our unbelievable God, always providing for us no matter the situation.” Something caught my attention, though…

I related the thoughts I had about how I felt my life was shattered because of the situation I had gone through… and something jumped out at me in this passage.

Think of what happens when we approach Jesus when we’ve gone through a life-changing event.

1) We come to Jesus broken. We go to Him with the shattered parts of our lives in our hands… we come to Him with whatever we have left.
2) We are not sure what our next step is, and some of us have doubts as to if we can move on from the circumstance.
3) We seek God diligently and boldly to find out how to move on.
4) He comes through for us and shows us how we are to proceed in our lives. In fact, He’s added to our lives so that we can go out and minister to others who were in the same situation we were.

In a symbolic way, that’s exactly what happened in John 6! Follow me on this…

1) All of the thousands of people were coming to Jesus because they were broken.
2) The disciples weren’t sure how they were going to feed the multitudes. Jesus said for them to sit the crowd down, for they would all eat.
3) He made the five loaves of bread and two fish last for everyone.
4) They had leftover fragments so that it was not wasted and could feed others.

I had to laugh! Think about it! I set the first and second lists together to show the parallels I’m talking about;

1) We come to Jesus with whatever we have left in our lives (five barley loaves and two fish)
2) We’re not sure how Jesus is going to move through our situation, and we try to figure out what the next step is (Jesus tells everyone to sit down, for He already knew what He was going to do)
3) We look to Jesus for guidance as to what steps He shows us we have to take (they passed around the loaves and fish for everyone to eat)
4) He helps us to move on with more than we had before (Jesus makes the loaves and fish feed the thousands)

Amen! This story shows us the steps we need to take when we are broken and are in need of our savior’s grace and sustenance!

Here are the four steps that we must use to find God in our trials and how He will help us to move on –

1) Approach the throne boldly with honesty of where we are! God wants us to come to Him with all of our life’s troubles! We show up with our “fragments”, and we let Him take care of us.
2) We must pray that He gives us a peace and He prepares to show us what the next step in the recovery process is.
3) Let Jesus work in our circumstances. We must diligently seek Him in order for Him to bless us with the knowledge of what we can do in our situation to reflect His goodness and His glory.
4) We must reach out to the thousands who are going through the same thing we are and feed them with what God has blessed us with!

I hope that you will take these four steps boldly to the throne so that God can put the pieces back together. Take what He gives to you, and give it back to the hurting world.

One Response to “Shattered”

  1. Thanks for sharing Nick! I appreciate the insightfulness and your transparency in sharing!

    Pat


Leave a Reply

