God's Overflow
"For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks" – Luke 6:45

KEEPING YOUR FOCUS ON GOD


I look back to my middle school and junior high school days, and I realize how confusing of a time it was. I wanted to be like everyone else. I wanted to be as well liked as the so-called “jocks” because of all of the attention they would get from the girls. I wanted to be as accepted as part of the “popular” crowd because of how happy they seemed to be. I wanted to be as admired and feared as the “bad boy” crowd because of how they demanded the respect of the students… or else!

One thing was for sure. I wanted to be someone other than who I was. I was a boy with a great talent for “being the guy that every girl went to with their problems”. Yes, I was that guy. I was the shoulder, the ear, the comforter… the one that took away all of the pain for the girls whose hearts were broken. In a lot of ways, I still am, but I have learned to embrace that side of my life. I look back on my life in those times and the person it has made me become.

You are faced with so many life situations that will mold and shape you into the type of person that God will want you to become. The one thing you must keep in mind is that, as the Bible says, we must focus our thoughts and our lives on Christ.

In Colossians 3:2 (NKJV), an example is set as to where are to keep our focus:
“… set your hearts on things above, not on earthly things.”

It is very easy to be caught up in all of the situations that you are facing. “Who are my real friends?” “Why doesn’t that girl/guy like me?” “Why aren’t I more popular?”

God is extremely aware of the situation that you are currently in. How you react to these situations is what will make all the difference. You must trust that God is in control of your life, and He will work on those situations that you are currently facing. All you have to do is ask.

In those situations that He is working on, He will mold you and transform you into the person He wants you to be. You have to hold on to the fact that God knows best. You must embrace who and where you currently are. God may have you where you are in order to mold you into the person He wants you to be. It may be painful for a season, but you will be better for it.

God says, in Romans 8:28;
“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to His purpose.”

The next time you find yourself facing a trial, remember to lift it up to God, trust that He will work it out for you, and enjoy the person that He has called you and is shaping you to be.

One Response to “KEEPING YOUR FOCUS ON GOD”

  1. i like it that really was a good point stay in the faith and stay focused on the lord .

    this is funny how i found this im a blogger on wordpress. in writeing my blog i was looking for a picture that incorpirated focusing on god .because my message was on just that and when i googled images (focused on God) your picture came up when i clicked on it i came here to your page also on wordpress .
    its amazing how god work’s well anyway stay focused and have a good day.
    PS. check out my blog.
    (jesusjunction.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

